International Informal
Microscopy Hour

Do you use imaging facilities or work at a microscopy core, or just really like microscopy (of any kind)?

Join us for a casual meeting about your microscopy experience and maybe some cool methods you use daily and wish more people knew about.

The main goal of this meeting is to have fun, while talking about microscopy and related topics :)

Next meeting:
February 14, 2023

9am San Francisco, 12pm New York,
5pm London, 6pm Lagos, 7pm Tel Aviv,
10:30pm New Delhi
(see in your time zone)

To be updated and help us design productive conversation, please fill the survey: forms.gle/HjePfoAckzP8tD4H8

Zoom link: Zoom Meeting ID: 891 9234 9653

or contact organizers:
Kari Herrington (UCSF, USA) Daniel Waiger (Hebrew University, Israel)
Andrey Andreev (Caltech, USA)


Notes from previous meetings:

December 15th, 2022

After short presentations we got to covering topics: - why do you like/wanted to work at a microscopy core? - what is required to "get into microscopy?" - what knowledge/skills make biologists' life easier in microscopy? - shorting the loop between acquisition and analysis - math is not scary - image is a bunch of numbers, not "a picture" - users care about numbers and data, not about light rays and optics (that is what microscopists/builders care about) - data management. Compressing images into JPG and deleting originals to save space... - calculating required data before experiments start - learnign materials: link.springer.com/book/10.1007/978-3-030-22386-1 and iBiology digital iamge analysis - Imaging ONEWORLD looking for co-organisers: rms.org.uk/events/imaging-oneworld-series.html - data management: local infra and users' behavior is often the bottleneck - some data that never will be analyzed/used, shift responsibility for data & analysis on users/biologists because its only fair way - work in facilities: how does the job splits between servicing (scopes&users), building custom stuff, analysis, teaching... - how facilities differ based on size/loc - growing in facility; difference between custom and comm - types of facility users and how to help them - work in industry vs work in academia; freedom etc - facility size & impact magnitude; microscopists can have real impact by spending not that much time, especially in smaller facilities - interviewing for a job in facility: talk to managers AND users - best advice for microscopy newbies: ask the technician! - basic reading: consult with colleagues, read papers specific to your sample, Lakowicz - regular plug of image.sc for image analysis and microlist.org for everything - "art of keeping data honest" and bitesizebio.com/30308/quantify-images-unbiased-way/ and embopress.org/doi/full/10.15252/embj.2020105889 - expansion microscopy (suddenly :) - image analysis is extension of biology experiment; honest microscopy is keeping imaging params the same, and varying single param in biology

September 14th, 2022

- @ReynaudEmmanuel reminds us about "metrology suitcase"; slide from @BioimagingNA - trusting hardware & doubting old hardware - piezo stages (and issues thereof) - talking to microscopy companies efficiently - grants & service contracts - data management / transfer - onboarding new users to light-sheet - core director's role - helping users start (use smallest FOV / sample), troubleshoot samples - getting info from paper vs from the authors directly - how to get software part of paper working - clearing protocols - spilled (clearing) chemicals and smells - how to manage expectations of PI about the experiments - FRET, 2P-FRET & FLIM-FRET - consulting first-timers: really need to collaborate on definition of project, goals, pick methods. Core is not "plug-and-play' - CZI funding feel in the need for custom but user-friendly systems - onboarding users on custom setups - development of commercial system

>